No Time Like Tomorrow (JK)

Hello. It’s me.

~ Adele

 

I know, I know. I suck. I’m bad a commitment. I let you down. I remind you of that weird uncle that shows up at the parties with the Jell-O no one wants to eat.

Wait. . . that’s what you were going to say, right?

Well. . . this year — which is ALMOST over, holy cow! has been a whirlwind for me. I’m almost done with a graduate degree, but that also means I’ve spent a lot of time recently *not* knitting.

Being Thankful and !#@$

This week, in fact, I knit for the first time in. . . months. I knit for the first time for several days, consecutively, since maybe June. It’s been that long. But the time of Thanksgiving (definition: a US holiday that involves gorging and stuffing ourselves and eating birds in large quantities, as well as, theoretically, experiencing gratitude)  was upon us. And for me, that meant a few days without school! Which meant knitting time.

I’m knitting a gift for a Secret Santa event, which I’m excited about. I won’t go into detail incase any of the potential giftees read this blog, other than to say: Mama workin’ hard.

(I’ve never, ever, ever referred to myself as “mama.” So. New beginnings being made, right here on i is knits.)

i is knits RETURNS TO THE KNITTING STORE. . . 

IN other news, tomorrow (in the US) is Small Business Saturday. This day, sponsored largely by the credit card company American Express, involves going to small businesses to support your local economy. I love that. I actually do a lot of local-only buying here, in my neighborhood, purely because there are tons of local businesses around. And one of them is. . . the knitting shop!

Not just any knitting shop, but the one where I learned how to knit! The place that (down the line) is the reason I’m writing this blog! Woo!

So I went back. Last year, I attended one knitting night, and I love it there, but my schedule makes it really hard to get out there — despite being so close by. This is OK, but makes things a tiny bit awkward when I remember other people, but it’s been so long that they likely don’t remember me. (It goes without saying that, while an idiot knitter, I have a great memory for people.)

I did make a few purchases. . . two pattern books, as I am trying to SLAY THE STASH. But I did walk away with one new boyf-yarn (whatever, I’m just making up words at this point). It’s called. . .

Schachenmayr Regia

Imagine some striped yarn in greens and neutrals, with SHOCKING BRIGHT YELLOW POPS OF COLOR.

69445large_6bd2

Supposedly, this means it can teach you how to start a sock. Do I fully understand this witchcraft? No.

Witchcraft-witchcraft-988980_339_386

This is witchcraft, obvs.

So! I’ll let you know how that turns out.

I’m finishing one other knitted present which I look forward to posting on here too!

What are you thankful for this holiday season, if you celebrate? What are you knitting?

xo,

i is knits

 

Leave a Reply

